//
you're reading...
Travel UK

Warwick’s claim to fame

THE historic town of Warwick was my choice for a stopover on my way home from the north-east.

Rather like Stratford-upon-Avon, where I had stayed on my journey north, Warwick is an attractive little town made famous by one icon: for Stratford it was Shakespeare, for Warwick it is its formidable castle.

Developed from an 11th century wooden fort built by William the Conqueror, it was reconstructed in stone a century later and further fortified in the 14th century; today it is regarded as a fine example of military architecture and a world-renowned tourist attraction.

I didn’t have time to visit the castle but did have an enjoyable stroll around Warwick’s very attractive town centre. The rain that had blighted the first part of my trip was a distant memory.

Warwickshire’s county town has numerous historic buildings, largely from the medieval, Stuart and Georgian eras. Much of the original town was rebuilt in the 18th century after a huge fire in 1694.

A statue of boxer Randolph Turpin, who hailed from nearby Leamington Spa.

A postbox from Queen Victoria’s day.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Warwick’s claim to fame

  1. How very rewarding to follow the wanderings of Dorset Daze around odd corners in places and spaces I may never visit. To read what he writes and to look through his lens at things that catch his eye is always interesting and very often unexpected. A Victorian post box? Yes. Pleasing but not altogether unexpected – but then out of the blue – and just opposite a Warwick Dry Cleaners of all places – he stumbles onto a statue with a story worth telling – or at least worth reading about.

    Until I came to that particular photograph I had no idea of the connection between Warwick and that famous boxer of yesteryear, Randolph Turpin But it triggered a memory and I recalled that he was of the same era as another famous boxer, Freddie Mills and that as far as I could remember, they had both met tragic ends.

    So I Googled ‘Randolph Turpin’ on Wikipedia. Turpin’s life I now discover was extraordinary. What a story. Thank you DD, keep oop thy wanderings and ponderings, lad.

    Posted by YOUNG JOHNNY | October 6, 2022, 6:01 pm
  2. Thank you, Young Johnny, for your encouragement and kind comments. I’m pleased that you find some interest in my travels. I shall endeavour to keep you entertained. It would be nice to read some of your adventures, of which I know there have been many.

    Posted by dorsetdaze | October 6, 2022, 6:21 pm

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 24,092 hits